Multi-Engine Rating

Multi-Engine Rating
  • FAA Private Pilot’s license
  • FAA Medical Certificate
  • Speak and understand English
  • Minimum 10 flight hours
  • Complete DA42 ground school
  • Pass Checkride
  • Rent multi-engine airplanes
  • Carry passengers
  • Fly in clear weather


Even though there is no written test, there is still a checkride to obtain your multi-engine rating. Your checkride will be with a Designated Pilot Examiner (DPE) and will consist of two parts. The first half will be an oral examination, where you will answer questions about flying. The second half is the practical examination, where you will fly maneuvers in the airplane with the DPE. After you pass both parts, you will receive your multi-eingine rating!

Flight Hour Minimums

  • 10 hours dual
  • *per insurance
  • FAA has no minimum hours

How long does it take?

In as little as 3 weeks, flying 2-3 times per week, you can earn your multi-engine rating. Another factor is the DA42 ground school and maintaining a steady pace with your self-study.

What can I do with my rating?

With a multi-engine rating, you will be able to fly multi-engine propeller aircraft. Low IFR conditions and jets will require additional ratings and/or type ratings.

DA42 Ground School Course

The DA42 ground school goes over aircraft limitations, emergency and normal procedures, performance, weight and balance, systems, handling, oxygen, ice protection, G1000, KAP 140, and the checklist. This course, which supplies the foundation and ground knowledge, is done concurrently with the flight training. This method maximizes retention and comprehension.

Your Training Will Include

  • Preflight preparation
  • Takeoffs, landings, and go-arounds
  • Emergency operations
  • Preflight procedures
  • Performance maneuvers
  • Multiengine operations
  • Ground reference maneuvers
  • Slow flight and stalls
  • Postflight procedures